Oakleigh

Location
S4 7AG

Electronic Mail susannah.diamond@gmail.com
Year started
2000
Situation
urban
Number of over 18s
8
Ideological focus
none
Legal structure
private ownership
Open in principle to new members
yes
Charge visitors
no
Work in Lieu
no

Oakleigh comfortably accommodates 8 people, and the house is so lovely and spacious that occupants tend to stay for 3-10 years before moving on. However sometimes we host volunteers or guests on short courses in Sheffield, and at other times the house is quieter when several people are away. This gives the house an ever changing rhythm with times when only a couple of people are around or larger communal meals with an eclectic combination of dishes and personalities. Interests currently represented in the house include cooking and food growing, crafts and game playing, music and dance, yoga and qi gong, through to foraging and preserving, sustainable living and volunteering. The house is privately owned, but house meetings three or four times a year offer everyone a say about changes. Housekeeping is managed in a flexible way, with a balance between communally purchased and private sharing of food, and a light-touch approach to recycling, cleaning and maintenance. The house was initially bought in 2000 with support from the Ecological Building Society. It needed considerable work (plumbing, electrics, improved/secondary windows, and a new back porch), but it is becoming a beautiful home. The restoration of the house was as sympathetic and as low impact as possible, investing in eco-insulation, solar hot water, condensing boiler, efficient wood stove, low emission paints, and solar PV. Other additions have included a pond, woodpile shelter, raised beds for fruit and veg, a chicken house and a friendly dog. We are located in Burngreave, an easy 15 min from Sheffield town centre by bus or bike (30 min walk), and 5 minutes from shops and the Northern General Hospital. The house has a large garden with mature trees and birdsong and offers most amenities, including big screen film nights by the toasty wood-burner. 

community does not share income
community does not require capital from members
community has broadband internet access
community generates some of its own electricity
community uses solar energy
community buildings insulated to a high standard
community members use bicycles
community does not have an organised system for car sharing
community is accessible by public transport
community shares utilities
community does not have tool sharing system
community has organised systems for recycling
community does not have any kind of ecosewage system
community is not involved in land management
community grows a lot of vegetables
animals kept communally
regular communal meals
community has policy which restricts smoking
community buildings not wheelchair accessible
community is not involved in campaigning

Diggers & Dreamers
care of BCM Edge
London
WC1N 3XX
United Kingdom

info@diggersanddreamers.org.uk

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Creative Commons Licence
Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, the content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Oakleigh is currently looking for new members

If you are interested in contributing to our lovely household, please get in touch and tell us about yourself! Then come see the house, have some conversations, and come for dinner. Or in the current context, we could do virtual tours and zoom conversations. Looking forwards to meeting you; let’s see if we are compatible! We have possible two rooms: Larger room (approx 18 m2) £370 pcm. * Smaller room (approx 12 m2 but has a raised platform double bed you can walk beneath) £335 pcm. All bills included. See more photos at: http://bit.ly/Oakleigh-photos.  

Send them a message:
susannah.diamond@gmail.com

Oakleigh is currently looking for volunteers

We hope to host someone for a week or so in late summer. This year’s tasks could include coppicing trees, re-lining the pond, painting windows or internal walls, repairing a fruit cage, or re-slating a barn, depending on weather, skills and inclination.  See more photos at: http://bit.ly/Oakleigh-photos.  If you are interested, get in touch with possible dates and let us know something about you, and your experience / preferences.

Send them a message:
susannah.diamond@gmail.com