Wellhouse Community

Location
LN7 6TX

Electronic Mail gytribe1@gmail.com
Situation
urban
Number of over 18s
4
Number of under 18s
1
Ideological focus
vegetarian/vegan eco self sufficiency, community and shared living
Legal structure
private ownership
Open in principle to new members
yes
Charge visitors
yes
Work in Lieu
yes

We up date this entry as our ongoing situation changes. We are small community of 4 – 8 people (the numbers vary as we accept temporary house mates as well as people looking to find a more permanent community (currently 3x adults and 1x child 3 years old) living in a large, recently purchased 6 bedroom town house with outbuildings, summer house, a workshop, garden and private courtyard. The house is 3 storey and dates back to 1865 having been former residence of the Duke of St Albans. It was purchased for a relatively low price as it needs quite a bit of work although is very habitable. We have an allotment, have a well (not currently in use) and have invested in solar panels. The property is deceptively large. We now have ‘rescue’ chickens, there is a garden. We are all vegan/vegetarian and so don’t have/cook any meat in the kitchen. (experience tell us that if you are an avid meat eater you eventually will get fed up of this!) We usually eat together and support each other taking it in turns to cook, fitting round work schedules. We buy most food and supplies communally having an account with Suma and as much as possible eat organic and try only using eco products etc in the house. We are trying to reduce our plastic use. There is a house cat and will consider other pets but this has a provisor that dog mess is cleared up straight away as we have a small child that plays in the garden. All the core adults work. We share bills etc equally and any prospective persons joining us would be expected to share a portion of the house costs. (currently £1150 per month) There is rural broadband. We do live to a certain standard of cleanliness (We aren’t clean freaks by any means but you will be expected to clear your own pots and not leave things for others to do.) and we expect community members to help with aspects of helping maintain the house and garden. We have had people stay with us that don’t seem to really get the communal living thing and ended up spending all their times in their own room. If you are the sort of person that needs to hide away all the time then you probably won’t fit in well here. We are not saying you have to spend all your time with us, and appreciate we all need space and alone time, but communal living to us is more than just sharing a living space. The house is situated in the historic town of Caistor that has roman origins and is on the rolling Lincolnshire hills. There is a coop, pub and several amenities including 2 art galleries. The viking way passes close to the house. It’s a quiet Lincolnshire town but there is a good sense of community and a surprising number of events go on. We are only 12 miles from Grimsby and Cleethorpes. Decisions are taken as collectively as possible and the current house deed holders have been living communally for over 25 years. We are very open to new input and always have been able to resolve any issues in a friendly way. It certainly isn’t the usual landlord/tenant relationship, we prefer people to speak openly and say what they think; we will. We are open to short term visitors as well as those wishing to investigate longer term arrangements. We enjoy skill sharing and will be training in hemp lime plastering in 2021 to enable us to plaster the newly re-roofed outbuilding that will make a possible separate accommodation. We currently have very little capital as it was all used to buy the property and we have a loan that is being repaid as part of the house costs. We are very friendly and run laughter yoga sessions as well as being very good friends/family with a local community circus. We enjoy music and playing games, walking, animals, meditation, sitting round, drinking tea and chatting and don’t have a TV licence nor is TV part of our daily lives, although we do have a virtual reality set up! We currently have a double and single room free. Short term we are open to housemates that just want to live communally perhaps for a few weeks or months. Longer term we hope to find some like minded souls to share a home together. I think our ideal fit would be a veggie/vegan couple with a young child of similar age (3) to ours who also embrace the idea of ‘gentle parenting’. The house is an amazing family home and has huge potential. It is large enough for everyone to find space and we have one room as a dedicated playroom so is a great place to grow up in. If you think this sounds like something you could get involved with please message Sean on the Diggers and Dreamers site and let’s arrange for a chat, perhaps for you to visit, maybe even join us for a meal?

community does not share income
community does not require capital from members
community has broadband internet access
community does not generates any of its own electricity
community uses solar energy
community buildings not insulated to a high standard
community members use bicycles
community has organised system for car sharing
community is accessible by public transport
community does not share utilities
community has tool sharing system
community has organised systems for recycling
community does not have any kind of ecosewage system
community is not involved in land management
community grows a lot of vegetables
animals kept communally
regular communal meals
community does not have policy which restricts smoking
community buildings not wheelchair accessible
community is not involved in campaigning

Wellhouse Community is currently looking for new members

Looking to find 2 more persons to live with us longer term. Ideally we are after people that are looking to find a communal home and will love the space we have as much as we do. Our set up may suit a couple with a younger child as we’d have a great space to grow up in and there the obvious synergy of us having a toddler. We follow ‘gentle parenting’ and intend to home school We have a single and double room available. If you are interested please contact us with info about you and why you are interested in our set up.

Send them a message:
gytribe1@gmail.com

Wellhouse Community is currently looking for volunteers

Happy to have volunteers. Depending on length of stay we may as for a contribution to bills/food costs as we don’t have much cash. Always open to negotiations and if your skill set is particularly useful to the project then we will be very open to you staying for free.

Send them a message:
gytribe1@gmail.com